Sheryl Underwood & Mario Lopez Announced as Hosts for the 44th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards!

Sheryl Underwood & Mario Lopez

Mario Lopez, correspondent for the Emmy-winning syndicated show, “Extra,” and Sheryl Underwood, one of the co-hosts of CBS Daytime’s Emmy Winning, “The Talk,” have been named the official hosts for this year’s Daytime Emmy Awards celebration. The awards are set to take place on Sunday, April 30th, at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium in Pasadena, CA.

No stranger to daytime themselves, Lopez had a role on CBS’ “The Bold and the Beautiful” as Christian Ramirez. He also hosted the former talk show, “The Other Half,” from 2001-2003, which was a male counterpart to ABC’s “The View,” that aired on NBC. Underwood has made several appearances on both “B&B” and “The Young and the Restless.”

National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences President, Bob Mauro, released a statement on the announcement of hosts:

“The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is happy to announce that two of daytime television’s brightest stars, Mario Lopez and Sheryl Underwood, will lead the magnificent celebration planned for this year’s 44th Daytime Emmy Awards.”

Senior Vice President, David Michaels, also released a statement in regards to Underwood and Lopez as hosts:

“I am thrilled to have one of the most entertaining combinations in daytime television hosting our grand gala at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium. With their combined wit and charm, plus the excitement of Mary Hart receiving this year’s lifetime achievement award not to mention the stars of the nominated drama, talk, culinary and game shows and a stellar list of presenters to be announced later this week, it promises to be a memorable night for the daytime community.”

The Daytime Emmy Awards are set to be live-streamed on Facebook and Twitter-Periscope on Sunday, April 30, 2017, at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *